Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

Embassy in the UAE
English | Spanish

Political Pattern

Long-Form Name
Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela is a decentralized Federal State on the terms set forth in the Constitution, governed by the principles of territorial integrity, cooperation, solidarity, attendance and shared responsibility


Administrative Divisions:
23 states: Amazonas, Anzoategui, Apure, Aragua, Barinas, Bolívar, Carabobo, Cojedes, Delta Amacuro, Falcón, Guárico, Lara, Mérida, Miranda, Monagas, Nueva Esparta, Portuguesa, Sucre, Táchira, Trujillo, Vargas, Yaracuy, Zulia.
1 Federal District: Distrito Federal.

Insular dependences: the insular dependences consist of 11 federally controlled island groups with a total of 72 individual islands

December 1999

Legal System
Based on Napoleonic code

National Holiday
Independence Day, 5 July (1811)

Executive Power
President of the Republic, Executive Vice-president and Council of Ministers (Cabinet)

Legislative Power
Unicameral National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional) consists of a Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados )

Judicial Power
High Court of Justice (Tribunal Supremo de Justicia)

Citizens Power
General Prosecutor, Comptroller General and Ombudsman

Electoral Power
National Electoral Council (CNE)

Spanish is the official language. The use of native languages also has official status for native peoples, and must be respected throughout the territory of the Republic, as constituting part of the cultural heritage of the Nation and humanity.

Three equal horizontal bands of yellow (top), blue, and red with the coat of arms on the hoist side of the yellow band and an arc of eight white five-pointed stars centered in the blue band

Simon Bolivar

Liberator of Venezuela
Statistics on Confiscations
and Detainees at Venezuelan

2002 - 2006 (PDF)

Drugs Fighting